Page 1 of 1

Moving issue from one project to another

Posted: Tue May 03, 2016 11:40 am
by kanto501
This was a topic brought up before a year or so ago with no real solution, maybe I have an idea now that could work. Here is the current problem: If you have an issue say it was created in project one with an ID of proj1-1 and you discover you can not get it done in this project and end up moving it to project three. When you do this the ID will get changed, say it becomes proj3-20. If you had links to this old proj1-1 they would be broken, or if someone referred to an issue by it's ID of proj1-1 it would be wrong now.
I'm wondering if it would be possible to just have Bug Genie map the old ID to the new ID so the links do not end up breaking?

just a thought as we tend to move issues around a lot now we use scrum.

kanto501

Re: Moving issue from one project to another

Posted: Thu May 12, 2016 10:14 am
by kanto501
We had a discussion about this again today and it is a show stopper for us to use Bug Genie. With us doing scrum and issues moving sometimes between multiple projects before they get completed we must have an ID that does not change from project to project. I would love to get a discussion going on here to come up with something that will solve this because I think Bug Genie is a great product. Zegenie if you want to discuss this either in this forum or in private please contact me. I just want to know if anything is being done or even thought about to fix this issue.

thank you,

kanto501

Re: Moving issue from one project to another

Posted: Thu May 19, 2016 3:17 pm
by SB#1
We can across the same problem some time ago, as a workaround for us we created a custom field called "Original log number" that appears on created issues.
Our users know to complete the field with the current log number before moving it, it's not perfect but does allow searching by the orginal log number, and the new log apears in the search results.